Nationally Recognized Core Competencies for Afterschool and Youth Development Professionals

These competencies are grouped into ten content areas:
  1. Child and Youth Growth and Development
  2. Learning Environment and Curriculum
  3. Child/Youth Observation and Assessment
  4. Interactions with Children and Youth
  5. Youth Engagement
  6. Cultural Competency and Responsiveness
  7. Family, School, and Community Relationships
  8. Safety and Wellness
  9. Program Planning and Development
  10. Professional Development and Leadership

Within each content area, the competencies are grouped into five levels: Entry, Developing, Proficient, Avanced, and Mastery.

Publication Date: 
National Institute on Out-of-School Time